The First Step

Why “The Path Between The Stars”? Quite simply, they’re lyrics from David Bowie’s “As The World Falls Down” from my favourite film of all time, “Labyrinth”.

 

 

Yes, but what’s it all about? Well, I’ve been blogging on and off for a number of years now, on a variety of topics, but I think I’ve finally found what I’m passionate about – just being me. Being happy. Being (relatively) healthy. Being clean. Being organised. Just being.

 

I won’t say I’ve been on a journey of discovery, or that I’ve been soul searching, or anything of the sort. Quite simply, in the past few years, I’ve found contentment. For a long time, I struggled with wanting to be seen as superhuman – the woman who had it all – but I still wasn’t happy. Growing into an adult, I didn’t enjoy the pub scene like all my peers (in fact, I’m teetotal, and always have been), I wasn’t particularly sociable, I wasn’t interested in current affairs or politics or art. In short, I felt like I wasn’t good enough. I thought there was something wrong with me. Until one day I confided in someone that I wasn’t any of the things I thought I should be and that most of the time I preferred my own company, and she replied, “So?”

 

That one simple question pretty much changed my life.  It made me realise that I didn’t have to be like everyone else. I could find my own path and do whatever made me happy. Since then, I’ve been trying to live a relatively simple life. No, I don’t live on a commune, and I’m not a vegan. I just enjoy the small things in life – a clean home, a good book, some quiet time.

 

And now I want to share my journey with you – all the little tips and tricks I’ve learned along the way (and am still learning). They’ll mostly be divided into four categories: cleaning, organising, diet & exercise, and a section I call “soul food”. The latter is a miscellany of things I hope will help you lead a happier life. Subjects under “soul food” will include meditation, motivation techniques, confidence boosters, and sometimes just silly pictures to make you smile. Like this one:

179018153909901465_qcHmIgi0_c

 

It’s about enriching your life, bringing a bit of sparkle to your day, easing your burdens, giving you the strength and motivation to keep on keeping on, to help you reach new heights and, there, to guide you on your path between the stars.

Star

 

Please leave a comment

